Composer, author, lecturer, guitar teacher


Compositions by Rikky Rooksby

From Cornish Springs (strings, 12 mins)
Draws on two traditional melodies ‘Gaelic Waltz’ and ‘Kimiad’.

A Chepstow Girl (elegy for harp, violin and strings, 12 mins
).Performance of the Chepstow Girl at Hartpury, Gloucs
Performed in public by ex-members of the National Children’s orchestra (ENCOR) in Hastings and Eastbourne on August 23 and 24, conductor Glyn Oxley. Performed again in Hartpury near Gloucester and in Chepstow in November 2002.

At Runnymede (strings, 11 mins)

This piece won the Lennox Berkeley Open Composition prize at the Oxford Music Festival in February 2004.

Around the Curve of Winter (oboe and strings, 8 mins)
Partly inspired by two paintings of S.J.Lamorna Birch’s, ‘In Our Old World Valley’ and ‘Spring Morning’. In February 2007 awarded a distinction in the Open Composition prize at the Oxford Music Festival.

Persephone (strings, 5 minutes)

A House in White Woods (suite for orchestra, 23 mins)
Partly inspired by the centenary of the building of Sibelius’ house ‘Ainola’. In January 2006 awarded a distinction in the Open Composition prize at the Oxford Music Festival

Pictures at A Cornish Exhibition (suite for orchestra, 35 minutes)

A musical response to over a dozen well-known examples of art created in Cornwall by leading Newlyn School painters such as Stanhope Forbes, Elizabeth Forbes, Norman Garstin, Walter Langley, Lamorna Birch, and other later artists.

Trevalgan (hymn, organ, with lyric, 3 mins)

Five Cornish Pictures (for orchestra, 11 minutes)

Selected from the longer work. In May 2006 chosen by Roxanna Panufnik for the St. Alban’s Symphony Orchestra Composer Day and given a public performance.

For The Few (solo organ, 2 minutes)

Sinfonietta (A Child in Lakeland) (orchestra, 35 mins)

Snowdrifts (cor anglais and strings, 5 mins)

Festival Overture (for orchestra, 8 minutes)
Highly commended in the West Forest Sinfonia Composer competition.

String quartet no.1. (15 mins)

River Nocturne (clarinet and string quartet, 8 mins)

A Night in the Arcade of Shadows (clarinet and string quartet, 7 mins)
Highly commended entry in the University of St. Andrews Chamber Music competition.

Performance of the Tayport Concerto 2009Tayport Reflections (harp and chamber orchestra)
Commissioned by William Henry and given a private performance at Great Milton, Oxfordshire in June 2009.

Scenes from the Life of Sir Humphry Davy (for orchestra, 30 mins)

A commission from the Old Penwithian Association to mark the centenary of the Humphry Davy school in Penzance. Public performance at St.John’s Hall, Penzance on May 29, 2010.

String Quartet no.2

On the Great Western (for string sextet, 18 mins)

Pavane for Shiva

An arrangement for a larger group of strings of the slow movement of On the Great Western.

John Kennedy at Coos Bay (piano, 18 mins)

This was partly inspired by a famous photograph that Jacques Lowe took of (then) Senator Kennedy standing in a boat looking down at the water on a November morning at Coos Bay after giving an address to a mostly empty hall with about 20 workers.


For the New Frontier (for trumpet and strings) is awarded a distinction at the Oxford Music Festival.


Purple Blue Black (Masquerades) (20 pieces for piano, 35 mins)

On Carrack Dhu (strings, 8 mins)


This Sea, For The First Time (strings, 8 mins); This Sea (Graham’s Theme) (strings, 2 mins, shorter version)


Symphony in B major (The Blue Rider) (orchestra, one mvt, 22 mins)

Symphony 2 (orchestra, two mvts, 31 mins)


An Evening at Towednack (clarinet quintet)


Symphony 3 (orchestra, three mvts, 39 mins)


Symphony 4 (orchestra, four mvts, 38 mins)